Announcing the 8th Vaccine Industry Excellence (ViE) Award Winners

Announced at the award ceremony during the 15th World Vaccine Congress (April 7 – 9, Washington DC), the 8th Vaccine Industry Excellence (ViE) Awards recognise those who have done outstanding work in the field, honour those who have made significant contributions to the development of the sector, and celebrate the great achievements made in the world of vaccines in the last year.

I am delighted to summarize the winners of each category below:

Clinical Trial Network OR Site:
Winner: Alliance for Multispecialty Research (AMR)
Highly Commended: PMG Research

Best CRO:
Winner: Quintiles
Highly Commended: ICON

Best CMO:
Winner: Baxter Biopharma Solutions
Highly Commended: VGXI

Best Technological Development:
Winner: Roche Diagnostics Bio-analytical instrumentation tools
Highly Commended: ViroCyt virus counter 3100

Best Vaccine Partnership / Alliance:
Winner: GSK/NIH – Ebola vaccine
Highly Commended: Greater Gift Initiative

Best Academic Research Team:
Winner: University of Pennsylvania – DNA vaccines program under David B. Weiner
Highly Commended: Duke – program working with Global HIV/AIDS Vaccine Enterprise

Best Financing Deal:
Winner: Advaxis – $23M financing for cancer vaccines (Adage Capital Management, Broadfin Capital, Sectoral Asset Management, Cormorant Asset Management, T. Rowe Price Associates
Highly Commended: Immatics – $30M for cancer vaccine trial (Series D funding from Dievini Hopp Biotech holding, Wellington Partners, AT Impf GmbH and others)

Best Vaccine Licence:
Winner: NewLink, Merck Ebola vaccine licensing agreement
Highly Commended: Aduro and J&J licencing agreement for novel immunotherapies for prostate cancer

Best Early-Stage Biotech:
Winner: Advaxis
Highly Commended: Inovio

Best Biotech CEO:
Winner: Stephen Hoffman, Sanaria
Highly Commended: Daniel J. O’Connor, Advaxis

Best Pharma Company:
Winner: Merck & Co
Highly Commended: GSK

Best Prophylactic Vaccine (approved or in development):
Winner: Newlink and Merck – rVSV-EBOV for Ebola
Highly Commended: Sanofi Pasteur – YF-VAX for Dengue

Best Therapeutic Vaccine (approved or in development)
Winner: Inovio – VGX-3100 DNA vaccine
Highly Commended: Agenus – Prophage vaccine series for brain cancer

Outstanding Achievement (Lifetime Achievement)
Dr Lance Gordon

Well done to our winners and shortlisters!

Nominations for 2016 will open near the end of this year, good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *