6th annual ViE Awards–Shortlist announced


After weeks of industry nominations and voting we are very happy to announce which companies, initiatives, projects, candidates and personalities you think need to be recognised and honoured for their efforts and contribution to the wider vaccine community in the past 12 months. We had thousands of votes helping us determine the shortlist in each one of the 13 categories. Thank you very much for your support once more and congratulations to the shortlisted companies and individuals.

Here are the top 5 per category as voted by you (in alphabetical order):


Best Clinical Site & Trial Network Final Shortlist (sponsored by Quintiles)

Benchmark Fort Worth, VaxConsortium (VaxNet)

Desert Clinical Research, Clinical Research Advantage

Heartland Research Associates, VaxConsortium (AMR)

Northern California Clinical Research Center, Research Centers of Northern California

Wilmington, VaxConsortium (PMG Research)


Best Contract Research Organisation Final Shortlist (sponsored by VaxNet)







Best Contract Manufacture Organisation Final Shortlist

Baxter (BioPharma Solutions)



Pfizer Centersource



Best Vaccine Partnership / Alliance Final Shortlist

Greater Gift Initiative and GAVI Alliance (one vaccine to a child lacking access to basic preventive care for every person who volunteers for a clinical trial)

GSK / Vodafone and Save the Children / Mozambique Ministry of Health (harnessing mobile technology to enahnce vaccination against infectious disease in Africa)

Inovio Pharmaceuticals and PATH Malaria Vaccine Initiative (advancing malaria vaccine development and new vaccination delivery technologies)

Merck / GSK and GAVI Alliance (continued provision of low cost HPV vaccine)

Serum Institute of India and GAVI Alliance (donation of 20m doses of measles-rubella to reduce mortality in developing World)


Best Vaccine Financing Deal Final Shortlist

Altravax and National Institutes of Health

Atreca and Gates Foundation

CureVac and Dievini Hopp BioTech Holding

Genocea and Gates Foundation and CVR

Nuron Biotech and Healthcare Royalty Partners


Best Early-Stage Vaccine Biotech Final Shortlist (sponsored by SynCo Bio Partners)


Inovio Pharmaceuticals



Protein Sciences


Best Vaccine Licensing Deal Final Shortlist

Glycovaxyn and GSK (development of new bacterial vaccines)

VaxInnate and Emergent BioSolutions (pandemic Influenza vaccine)

AFFiRiS and GSK (therapeutic Alzheimer's disease candidate vaccines)

Liquidia and GSK (vaccines and inhaled drugs for respiratory diseases)

Nuron Biotech and Pfizer (Meningitec)


Biotech CEO of the Year Final Shortlist

John Trizzino, CEO, Immunovaccine

Joseph Kim, CEO, Inovio Pharmaceuticals

Manon Cox, CEO, Protein Sciences

Robert House, CEO, Dynport Vaccine Company

Daniel Abdun-Nabi, CEO, Emergent BioSolutions


Best Academic Research Team Final Shortlist

Duke Human Vaccine Institute, Duke University (New insights into HIV vaccine protection)

Emory Vaccine Center, Emory University (collaboration for AIDS Vaccine Discovery)

Jenner Institute, University of Oxford (universal vaccine against avian influenza research)

Mount Sinai School of Medicine, Mount Sinai Hospital (collaboration on Novel Influenza Vaccine Research)

University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, (West Nile vaccine research)


Best Vaccine Pharma Company Final Shortlist (sponsored by Retroscreen Virology)

Sanofi Pasteur


Novartis Vaccines and Diagnostics


Merck & Co.


Best Therapeutic Vaccine (approved or in development) Final Shortlist (sponsored by IDT Biologika)

Immunovaccine: DPX-Survivac – Target: ovarian cancer

Inovio Pharmaceuticals: VGX-3100 – Target: Cervical cancer

AC Immune: ACI-24 – Target: Alzheimer’s disease

Genocea: GEN-003 – Target: Herpes simplex virus 2 (HSV2)

ImmusanT: Nexvax2 – Target: Gluten Allergy


Best Prophylactic Vaccine (approved or in development) Final Shortlist (sponsored by bioCSL)

Merck: V212-011 – Herpes Zoster (Shingles)

sanofi pasteur: Clostridium difficile

Vaccinogen: OncoVAX – Colon Cancer

Novartis: Flucelvax – Influenza

Protein Sciences: Flublok – Influenza


Outstanding Achievement Award 2013 (sponsored by Terrapinn)

Winner to be exclusively announced at 6th ViE Awards Ceremony, 17th April 2013


We will now be contacting each company individually asking for a detailed submission form to hand over the evaluation process to our esteemed judging panel.

The final results and winners will be announced at the 6th annual Vie Awards Ceremony and Gala Dinner on the 17th April. For more info click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *